Loading

Reviews for Madcap in San Anselmo, CA

Jake 1 year ago
5

Been here multiple times. Always great food and drinks. Menu changes often too so always new things to try

Aliya Ali 1 year ago
3

Disappointed by the fact that I let them know three times ahead of my reservation that we were celebrating a birthday, and even... at some point discretely during the dinner, and they forgot to bring the candle, even though they had assured me on the phonethat they would do so. When you travel 1.5 hours to the restaurant and save up to dine there, you would expect a little care foreach customer. When we arrived at the restaurant, a woman greeted us coldly and did not even acknowledge our reservation. Asidefrom that element which dampened my time there, Madcap owns a great plate collection which enhances one’s dining experiencesignificantly! Their dishes were beautifully presented, and most of them had their produces’ flavours enhanced rather thanmasked, which was a strong positive element. Our waiter was delightful. If not for the birthday mishap and the unfriendliness ofthe hostess, I surely would have recommended them more. Read more

Cheugly Puffs 1 year ago
5

Madcap in San Anselmo is a gem. Near one of the cute commercial areas, parking can be weird to find if their small lot is full... and you don't know where to look; the one-ways are a pain. Food was generally fantastic, just the right amount. Extremelyseasonal, well executed, just a hint of inventiveness. Leans heavily on seafoods. Only miss for me was the ribeye course. Onlyissue we encountered was service. While overall service was efficient and competent, our main waiter clearly was very new atexplaining dishes, very halting, mostly just trying to remember memorized lines. Definitely put a damper on the charm, pacing ofthe meal. Overall though, still very much a 5 star establishment. The service hiccup would certainly drop it from a Michelin 1*in my book, but perhaps it was a rare aberration, and everything else was top notch. Certainly a very solid deal at $125 - youget a lot more value relative to San Francisco or wine country equivalents. Read more

Dario Hosseinyoun 1 year ago
5

The food is a delicious fusion of French and Japanese. Each course is meticulously prepared and exploding with flavor. Does not... disappoint. Reasonably priced and cozy atmosphere. Service is also 5 stars. Read more

Raquel Araujo 1 year ago
5

This was a great dinner! I ate the best egg of my life. I loved every dish. We got the two extra options, the caviar and the... abalone. The abalone was so good. Honestly, it was so good and definitely worth the drive. We caught it on our way back fromMendocino. Read more

Hannah Zhang 2 years ago
5

Everything was delicious and the staff are super friendly and the wine list is also fantastic. Would love to go back next time,... a good restaurant to stop by if you are on your way back to the city from Napa. Read more

Mark Zwald 2 years ago
5

Amazing food that tastes as great as it looks. Chef Siegel is an artist. Also very reasonably priced for the quality food being... served. Nothing negative to say. Every dish on tasting menu was superb. Easily deserves a second Michelin star. Read more

Ana Elena Smith 2 years ago
5

Came for our anniversary and had such a spectacular meal and experience. The waitstaff was extremely kind and knowledgeable... about the dishes and the quality of the food was incredibly high (especially considering the price, $110 for a nine coursetasting menu!). We loved each course and were extremely full by the end, which I think is pretty rare for this style ofrestaurant – so definitely come with an empty stomach! Read more