Loading

Reviews for Va Bene in Duluth, MN

Eli Hughes 1 year ago
3

Our experience was okay. Service was a little slow. We started with the honey goat cheese with pear crostini and that wasn't... too bad. Our food took a long time to come so they gave us some free focaccia with olive oil and balsamic vinergar to tide usover in between. I got the conchigle con fungi and it was rather tasteless. My husband got the Salmon Fresca and he enjoyed it.It had much better flavour. Ambience is more of a cafe feel rather than a proper sit down restaurant. If you can get a seat inthe grotto, the view is truly spectacular. This seems to be one of the better places to dine in Duluth. Read more

Kaisha Theobald 1 year ago
5

My partner and I had lunch here last weekend. We made a reservation for the grotto, but got a text about being moved due to... inclement weather. We assumed we’d be moved inside, but we’re pleasantly surprised that we were moved to the atrium. Theview was perfect. Even on a rainy day, just beautiful. Definitely make reservations. Other reviews have complained aboutparking, but even on a Saturday afternoon we got lucky and quickly found close, free parking. We also did not feel rushed duringour meal at all as others have noted. Service was good, though the waitress was kind of touchy with my partner, which made bothof us a little uncomfortable. We had the burrata appetizer, Italian sodas, the pear and goat cheese panini with the beet salad,the salmon filet pasta and Italian cream cake with espresso. Everything was delicious. The one disappointing part of the mealwas that the pasta we ordered did not match what we expected to get, based on the description. The menu said that it was aseared salmon filet with a light lemon cream sauce. What we got were chunks of salmon that didn’t seem to have any sear, andwhat was much more of an oil-based sauce than any sign of cream. There was no lemon flavor, and the flavor of the dish came,instead, largely from the tomatoes. The flavors didn’t necessarily mesh the best together for us, but the individual parts ofthe dish were still very enjoyable. When eaten together, it seemed to bring out an unpleasant fishiness to the salmon. Anadjustment to the description of this dish could resolve the issue of misled expectations. We will be back up north in a fewweeks and already have reservations to return, so all in all, would definitely recommend. Read more

Thomas Umgelter 1 year ago
5

Such a great little Italian restaurant! All of the food is so amazing, and the staff is so professional and nice. You can be... just as casual as you want, or dress up and make it a special date for fine dining. There is absolutely nothing not to loveabout this place! Read more

Abigail 1 year ago
4

First, there isn’t much parking around so be prepared. Second, the façade definitely fooled me. The back has beautiful views... of Duluth and Lake Superior. You can specifically reserve for this spot, but only if there’s two of you. Third, the food is4.5/5. We enjoyed all the dishes we ordered. The serving size I thought was a tad smaller than the usual American restaurantswe’ve been to. Prices are very reasonable though. Read more

Born Awsumb 1 year ago
5

Best Italian food around! 2 patios (lower and upper), overlooking the water as trains slowly pass by, birds fly around, and you... enjoy each bite. We had an amazing server that gave us excellent advice on how to walk off our meal, and enjoy the finer partsof Duluth. I'm beyond impressed! A Must Try, just don't expect to find parking very easy, in this bustling and beautiful area. Read more

melissa frenzel 1 year ago
5

If I could give Va Bene 6 stars I would. This restaurant is a gem! Experienced one of the best pasta dishes I have ever had.... Everything about it was perfection. If you visit Duluth, this is a must visit. The view is beautiful, right on the lake. Inaddition to indoor seating, they have an enclosed terrace with a view as well as a few outdoor tables on the deck. Great wineselection and and very reasonable prices overall. I would recommend reservations. I am already dreaming of going back!! Read more

Caitlin Zatroch 2 years ago
3

Va Bene has a very small space, and it’s always as packed as it can be. The food is great. Its the best pasta you’re going... to find in town, and they usually have something interesting to offer for dessert. Great wine list. There are also severalseating options that give great views of the lake during good weather. Less great - it’s busy, so it’s hard to get a table,especially as tourist season ramps up. I have never been able to walk in and get a table. You need a reservation, but even ifyou make one, there’s a high chance that your table won’t be ready and you’ll be waiting anyway. Sometimes 30minutes. The service is also…something. It isn’t bad, exactly? That’s not the word I’d use. More like a culture ofstandoffishness permeates the place. The servers are not there to serve, they are there to churn you through and flip the table,and they aren’t good at hiding it. I felt rushed and like they were impatient, except all the guests are supposed to bepatient for the wait staff. It’s strange and doesn’t make the restaurant feel welcome. As for the food, it is really great,but if you are a local looking for some change…the menu here doesn’t. Same old standards, every time you come in. Ifyou’re looking for some variety, it does get old after a bit if you’re planning on being a repeat customer. Read more

Asena Kok Yucebilgic 2 years ago
5

Location is the best in Duluth. Have been there couple of times whenever we go from Twin Cities to Duluth. The view to the... bridge, lake and port is just so good and relaxing. This place takes you to the Mediterranean Sea and coast. Service is good,food is nice! Definitely recommended. Read more