Loading

Reviews for The Russell in Kansas City, MO

Amanda Lindahl 1 year ago
5

Amazing lunch experience! I feel kinda terrible that it?s taken me so long to try this place out. We loved the food, the service... and the atmosphere. Phenomenal flavors all around. I had the special brisket bowl and my partner had the burger and they bothtasted great. The bread pudding dessert and monster cookie were also epic. Definitely going to have to return. Read more

David Nguyen 1 year ago
5

I wish I dressed better than I did because the place was so well decorated. I felt like I walked into a more intimate scene,... haha. Everything in there was well thought out from the decor, to the display case, to the food itself. Ordering was differentthan what I assumed, so I wanted to give a heads up that after your decision is made you go up to the register to place an orderfor food! After that everything is to be expected in terms of dining-in where they bring you the food, etc? as you can tell fromthe photos, the food looked and tasted phenomenal! Delicious! Who knew I would liked the roots on my green onions! Gonna have tofry me up some whole green onions at home. Overall, great experience, I would come again. Read more

Michael Teicheira 1 year ago
5

Lovely meal. Fantastic atmosphere. My sandwich was divine. Absolutely loved the steak and aioli. The French onion was fantastic... as well. The brisket/veggie bowl thing was a huge portion, but the brisket was only okay. The rest of the meal wasfantastic. Overall, I?d give it a 4.5/5, simply because the brisket was lacking in a town known for its bbq. I woulddefinitely return and try some other things though. Read more

Dagny Taggart 1 year ago
4

Dinner 8/1/22 Other reviews prompted us to try this place for dinner after long day in the car. Ordered the Russell burger,... touted by one review as best burger ever eaten. Upgraded to creamy mushroom soup. Burger was just okay. The ingredients listedon the menu did not provide the expected flavors. Burger was cooked to medium instead of the requested medium well. Lettucewas bitter. No cheese flavor at all. No onion flavor. Mushroom soup was not in the neighborhood of what I consider a creamsoup. It tasted more like gravy. The mushrooms were huge slices that had to be cut into quarters to fit on the spoon. Brothseemed to be spiced with red pepper flakes or Tabasco. The upgrade was $4.00. Not worth it, chips would have been better. Nicecasual atmosphere, but pricy for the quality. Read more

Nikolas Stoebick 1 year ago
5

Very odd place, in a charming way. You order yourself (like a normal fast food restaurant), and pay as you go. The service was... great. The food came out in under 5 minutes after I ordered it, which is probably the fastest I've ever seen. Everything tasteddelicious, and the portions were impressively large. Would totally recommend this little hole in the wall to anyone in theKansas City Metropolitan area. Our baby enjoyed the food as well ???? Read more

Greyson Sinclair 1 year ago
5

This place is incredible and probably one of the best food values around. You walk in and you can smell the wood burning, and... the delicious wood fired meats and veggies. The atmosphere is dark, cozy, and rustic. Sometimes you?ll see a worker cartingaround more wood from the piles around the restaurant to add to the fire. The burger is one of the best I?ve ever had.Everything on the menu I?ve tried has been absolutely delicious. Can?t go wrong with the Russell bowl either. I tell everyonewho hasn?t heard of it that they need to go ASAP. Especially if you?re considering other fast casual restaurants, or somethingjust a little nicer than fast food. Just go here instead and it will be money well spent. Read more

Carolina Bermudez 2 years ago
5

From the moment you walk in, you can tell this place is unique, warm and the food instantly smells great! We were welcomed by... amazing staff who make you feel like you?ve known each other for a while and are ready to answer all your questions. The foodwas phenomenal, the hummus and baguette is a must try!!! A very special thank you to Peter and Brian who made our lunchexperience unforgettable ! Also, the desserts!!!! One of the best brownies I?ve had! Read more

Shane Griffin 2 years ago
4

The Russell was very unexpected. It's not in an area of downtown that you think of as a destination spot. However, once you... walk in you idea if that is completely changed. First let's start with the food. While the menu is small, all of the disheslooked delicious and inspired. We had the 1/2 chicken that was absolutely delicious, juicy, flavorful and severed with a halfroasted avocado and handmade tortillas. We also had the Salmon Bowl. My wife said it was one of the most flavor filled bowlsshe had ever had. We finished with a few bakery items to take home. And let me tell you the Bourbon Brownie was superb. Theprocess is simple. Order at the counter, find a seat, and they will bring your food to you. They have some small tables for anintimate setting as well as larger tables for large groups or community seating. The decor is rustic and comfortable with manycool things to look at and the staff are very kind, helpful and just genuinely pleasant. This is definitely a new destinationspot for us in KC. Read more