Loading

Reviews for Cafe Umami in Oakland, CA

Xavi Jarakmen 1 year ago
5

dishes are porridge with different toppings - definitely delicious and unique. I had them a few times and loved them every time... again. Mochi cake is not too sweet and wonderfully chewy and fresh. Their vegan avocado-chocolate mousse is super smooth with arich dark chocolate flavor. Love them! The atmosphere and decor are casual and beautiful. Kelly L.Elite 2022 Knoxville,TN 343235523 10/21/2022 2 photos Came during lunch time and there was no one else. Seems like only one worker too. Quitecafe. I got the salmon and a yuzu juice to go. They have the Japanese juices that I love here so had to get it. The salmonbowl was surprisingly filling for what it was. Brown rice at the bottom with a ginger tahini dressing. The salmon was good witha decent portion. Also a lot of veggie toppings like seaweed salad, roasted kale and mushrooms, and pickled burdock. This isclose by so I'll definitely go back to check out the different offerings. I imagine it's tough to survive in the Bay Area sincethere's so much competition. Gladly support healthy affordable food! Umami menu Salmon Bowl Danielle K.Elite 2022 Oakland,CA 131402865 9/26/2022Updated review 6 photos1 check-in Sooo happy with our lunch today! I had the mushroom bulgolgi salad thatwas SO flavorful that I didn't even need the dressing. YUM. I just love this spot - so healthy, thoughtful, and never a skimp onthe flavor! Tip: add fun items to your meals - I added avocado and a soft boiled eggs to mine! Mushroom BulgolgiSalad 6/6/2019Previous review What a perfect spot for a flavorful, healthy, whole-foods. We had the Umami Bowl, the ChickenJook, and a turmeric latte (made without coffee, so it was caffeine free). Both are spectacular; the Umami Bowl blew us away.Fresh sardines, wilted greens, delicately pickled cabbage, fish flakes for a nice chew, mushrooms, a rice porridge...it wasperfection. Read more Amani A. Oakland, CA 31104 6/25/2022 1 photo I paid $19 after tip for a salmon bowl (base price Read more

Cindy Martin 1 year ago
4

the salmon bowl was 9/10, I personally think it needed less rice and less of the oil( too much consistent of the oil). Since... the rest of the food made it filling but overall just good. Read more

John 1 year ago
5

Great Service! Bulgogi mushrooms were great combined with pork bowl. That hoisin sauce ????

Aakansha Maheshwari 1 year ago
5

The veggie Jook hit the spot! My friends in Oakland took me to this spot and I absolutely loved it! So flavorful, healthy and... cooked with love! Open a branch in LA? :) Read more

Shannon Thomson 2 years ago
5

Delicious Jook and lattes. Lots of flavor in the mushroom bulgogi. Small outdoor seating area. Would go again.

Miss Parker 4 years ago
5

I stumbled upon this total gem! It was easy to select choices from the menu that fit my diet. Like, they get it. I wasn't really... looking for a meal when I walked in, but I sure left with one! Lol The bar attendant was super helpful in suggesting somethingfor me, and very accommodating by tailoring it just for me. I guess doesn't have to be large in size to serve a powerfullynutritious and delicious play. Read more

Michael Jaguar 5 years ago
5

If you love tasty food that?s healthy too, check this place out. The various bowls have a ton of variety in them will sorts of... little sides on top of rice with a tahini sauce. The chicken bowl is my favorite, but there?s plenty of options for vegetariansas well. Excellent! ???????????????????? Read more

Brandy Beazley 6 years ago
5

So glad that this place is here! Ate here twice in one day. Love their breakfast - lots of greens, protein, and good sauces.... Good grain bowls. Had a delicious tumeric latte. Looking forward to going here again. Read more