Loading

Reviews for The Lobster in Santa Monica, CA

Keenan Graham 1 year ago
5

I have seen this place for years, that includes living and visiting LA. My wife and I were craving seafood and decided to... finally try this spot. Gosh, we didn't know what we were missing! We made a same day reservation on a Friday. We arrived earlyand we were able to order a drink in the bar area while they got our table ready. It didn't take long at all before we wereseated next to a window with an ocean view. As for the food, we ordered the lobster cocktail, lobster salad, clam chowder, andthe gumbo. The lobster cocktail came with lemon, butter, and was served over lettuce. I loved how fresh and meaty the lobsterwas! There was plenty of it on the salad too which was nice. The clam chowder was hot, creamy, and had soft pieces of potato anddelicious clam. Finally, the star of the show was the gumbo! It was very flavorful, had plenty of meat, and two large pieces ofdelicious shrimp. I liked that the gumbo wasn't heavy, it had just the right amount of rice and a hearty base (not creamy andfilling). The service was great and we were assisted and greeted by multiple people. I would definitely come back next time inSanta Monica! Read more

Angela Nguyen 1 year ago
4

Little bit more on the expensive side, but the food and service was good. The clam chowder was so fresh and delicious. However,... the Lobster Mac 'N Cheese with Butter Poached Lobster & Lemon Breadcrumbs was a little tasteless and bland on my end, but theyweren't cheap on the lobster which was tasty. I feel like the Mac 'N Cheese can definitely be improved to match the price of thedish since it was pretty expensive. I've been seated on the inside and outside and I definitely recommend the inside seatingmore if you want faster service and better view. The outdoor seating were nice as well, but service is a little slower. Read more

Joanna M 1 year ago
5

The view by the windows is great! Our waiter was very attentive and they brought a cute little slice of cheesecake with a candle... at the end for my birthday. The lobster roll was tasty, although there was more bread than lobster. The clam chowder was goodbut not sure if worth the price. The Ocean Breeze Margarita was very strong. Definitely pricey but a very nice experience for aonce a year celebration. Read more

Jay Wu 2 years ago
4

Great atmosphere, great service, love the hot towel at the end. Food was good, lobster Mac and cheese in my opinion was too... cheesy, too much fancy cheese took the lobster taste away. The gumbo was a bit on the salty side. The potatoes and crab cakewere the best. They have valet parking btw. Also great view duh! Read more

Léonardo Fuica 2 years ago
3

Okay so this is my review of this place. 1. Service 6/10 ( the waitress came three times to tells us they didn't have the wine... we wanted. Also, she was so afraid that we couldn't pay that she pass my credit card 3 times and it got block. I told her towait until I get my fraud alert text so I can accept. Had to pay cash 800$) 2. Decoration 8/10 it a nice place with a lovelyview of Santa Monica pier. 3. Food 6/10 (am sorry but for 800$ super for 4 people I was expecting way better. The meat on myplate had to much fat the lobster was way to small for a 95$ plate. The lobster pliers for the lobster don't work very good.The only thing good was the drinks. The presentation is nice) 4. Cleanest 9/10 the restroom was clean and didn't smell bad, thefloor was also clean. 5. Ambience 5/10 (okay so this place is not so friendly, I went to more expensive places and it was waybetter. It feels like everyone is looking at everything without a smile. Look at picture Read more

Jimmy Vo 2 years ago
4

We came here for my birthday week at night. It was quiet and we had a nice view of the Ferris wheel. We had a New England clam... chowder, a black chitarra pasta, a steamed main lobster, and a fish (but I can’t remember what it was). We asked them tobring the entrée out one at a time so we could enjoy but for some reasons everything we’re out at once. We had the lobsterfirst and then the pasta and then the fish. The lobster and the pasta were delicious, but the fish was cold as we left it forthe end. The service were good. The waiter came over to check up on us and refilled water. At the end, they had a nicebirthday cake for me as well. It was a good birthday night for me. Read more

Alice Lau 2 years ago
3

Make sure you understand that for 1 lobster you will be spending minimum $130 - the smallest lobster they have is 3 lbs (you pay... by $ per lb) so be prepared 2 people at least you will be spending $300. I would give this place 3.6 stars (not sure it’sworth the price they charge). I was not impressed with the chef (my seafood pasta was bland and watery). But Seafood was freshand service was good. Read more

Two Sisters Bookkeeping 2 years ago
5

We visited The Santa Monica Pier on thanksgiving weekend and we found this restaurant just by the Pier Entrance. We were lucky,... the food was delicious. We ordered the Steamed Black Mussels, Lobster Mac 'N Cheese, Seared Dungeness Crab Cakes and CertifiedAngus Beef Cheeseburger. Everything was so delicious and well cooked. I really loved the crab cakes, the Avocado Puree withArugula, Oven Dried Tomatoes & Shaved Fennel Salad is outstanding. Also the Truffle Parmesan Fries were out of this world. Irecommend this restaurant if you are in Santa Monica, you will not be disappointed. Our waitress Javier was very kind. Thankyou The Lobster for an unforgettable lunch. Read more